New Anthropology

New Anthropology2018-10-30T16:30:19+02:00

“If you were to ask me what is humanity’s most typical feature, I’d say: its gift for culture.

Human beings are creative beings, we are able to create reality from out of our own intelligence. But we are also creatures of nature.

If we term what produces the cosmos and consequently humans ‘nature’, and what humans produce ‘culture,’ we quickly realize that we as humans are summoned to co-creativity. The Human Challenge – more than ever before, we’re being compelled to face this challenge if we don’t want to saw off the branch we’re sitting on.”

 – Christina Kessler

Anthropology is the science of humanity.

All the peoples of the earth have been studied by now. For anthropology, a new era is beginning with a new task: to evaluate and apply humanity’s treasury of knowledge relating to its presence in the world. It is in this context that we speak of New Anthropology and Applied Anthropology.

Of central interest here are so-called cultural universals, universal insights from all continents and epochs. Because cultural universals not only provide essential insights into the human condition; they also offer a system for navigating the field of tension between nature and culture, global orientation…

New Anthropology

New Anthropology2018-10-30T16:29:04+02:00

„Fragt man mich nach dem typischsten Merkmal des Menschen, so würde ich sagen: Es ist seine Kulturbegabung.

Der Mensch ist ein schöpferisches Wesen, er kann aus eigener Intelligenz Wirklichkeit erschaffen. Allerdings ist er auch ein Natur-Wesen.

Nennen wir Natur, was den Kosmos und folglich auch den Menschen hervorbringt, und Kultur, was der Mensch hervorbringt, erkennt man sehr schnell, dass wir Menschen per se zur Ko-Kreativität aufgefordert sind. The Human Challenge – mehr als jemals zuvor sehen wir uns heute mit dieser Herausforderung konfrontiert, wollen wir uns nicht den Ast absägen, auf dem wir sitzen.“

 – Christina Kessler

Anthropologie ist die Wissenschaft vom Menschen.

Inzwischen sind alle Völker der Erde erforscht. Für die Anthropologie beginnt eine neue Ära mit einer neuen Aufgabe: den Wissensschatz der Menschheit über ihr In-der-Welt-Sein auszuwerten und anzuwenden. In diesem Zusammenhang sprechen wir von New Anthropology und Applied Anthropology.

Von zentralem Interesse sind dabei sog. Cultural Universals, universale Erkenntnisse aus allen Erdteilen und Epochen. Denn Cultural Universals ermöglichen nicht nur essentielle Einblicke in die Conditio Humana; sie bieten auch das Navigationssystem für das Spannungsfeld von Natur und Kultur, globale Orientierung…